My first time

I’m a blog newbie, and just as I was with many other firsts, I’m a little nervous.  Even in this accepting, empowering PSPLife community, it feels scary to write about my goals and what’s standing in the way of my achieving them.  But it’s *my* life, these are *my* goals, and how lucky am I that I found a group of awesome, caring people who stand ready to support me (and for free!)? So (gulp) here I go.

I’m taking on my finances. I’m highly educated, and have a job I really enjoy, which compensates me well for the non-profit sector. But I still have a hard time living within my means, due to a variety of circumstances but primarily because of unpredictable, very high medical costs incurred by my 2 kids. Spending more than I have stresses me out and it’s got to change.  Not only does it not serve me in a practical sense (I can’t keep accumulating debt; eventually the credit will run out), it doesn’t allow me to be the powerful, compassionate, intuitive woman I know I am, and need to be to support my children as they go through some really challenging times.  It’s time for me to do whatever it takes to cut back, face my embarrassment, stop being a pleaser, make some more money, and stick to a budget.

Over the next 45 days and beyond, I also plan to consciously focus on who I am and how I show up in the world.  I’m going to take time to take care of myself, physically, emotionally, and spiritually, so that I’m calm and centered and better able to care for those I love.  I’m a doer, an overachiever, and sometimes I forget that all I do and have flows from how I show up — how I AM.  I plan to live intentionally.

PSPLifers, please support me with encouragement, and call me out when I fall short. I know you’re coming from a place of love, and I’m so grateful for your presence in my life.

 

3 thoughts on “My first time

  1. I LOVE this post and your vulnerability! You’d never know you were a newbie! Looking forward to your next, buddy.

    Like

  2. This is so vulnerable, and so strong. I can hear your conviction, and I can hear the power in your voice. I am so grateful that I get to be part of your experience of taking on your finances. Thank you for sharing so authentically, Sara.

    Like

    1. I really enjoyed reading your post. It was so powerful, authentic, and raw! So happy to be on this journey with you and excited to see YOU taking a stand for YOU and what you want to create!

      Like

Leave a Reply

