Hadar – Stats week 1

Earlier today I commented on Kyla’s post regarding change and said that very often I resisted it even as I like to pretend that I’m good at it. Well here is change facing me right in the…well, face. The last five cycles straight I’ve blogged on Sundays and this is my opportunity to change that up. 

Goal 1:

Tonight I reposted all my items to eBay and to Craigslist (actually double listed, doing some A/B price testing). I also emailed Josh G to see where things stand regarding some consulting work.

Next up: contact Stephen and set a meeting with E&M re: my other idea.

Goal 2:

I stayed at work tonight past 6 pm for the first time in a while, but it was because I was asked by one of agencies to stop by an event of theirs in our building that started at 6:30, rather than because I was stuck at my desk and trying to catch up on my work…so I’m ok with that. I got home and made dinner for Naomi and me for the 2nd night in a row.

Today I sent Naomi some ideas for shows I’d consider seeing (opera, symphony & B’way), submitted for a B’way digital lottery for discount tix, as well as discovered BrokeBroadway. I also activated the mobile app BandsinTown, which scanned music on my phone to let me know which of the artists will be in the NY area in the coming months. 

Additionally, I reached out to follow up with 3 friends; the 4 of us have tried to get together FOREVER and…thank you, Universe, it looks like Saturday night works – whodathunk? I also invited an old coworker to tomorrow’s guest event, so yay to that. 

Lastly, while it isn’t a part of my goals, I started the day with a 4.5 mile run to continue my half-marathon training and continued fundraising as well.

All in all, a pretty good day…some big work things to tackle tomorrow and I’m looking forward.

I’m excited for this cycle, and really liking my goals. At the moment, the first one is feeling more like a have-to than a get-to, which is largely driven by (a) the sunk cost of the inventory I bought earlier this winter which I want to sell, and feels heavy on my mind, and (2) a powerless, victimy sense of ‘I don’t know HOW’ regarding impacting sales and driving interest in my products. Instead I GET to be responsible, and find a fun way to sell these electronics, and to find some way to do quickly!

My second goal is feeling oh-so-me as it’s about being in relationship and having fun…umm, yay!

The last thing hanging over my head is that I started to review a file for Brandy, but haven’t yet completed it, or gotten back to her with comments as I promised to do. This is likely causing her some difficulty with moving forward powerfully on her goals. So, B, here is my word that I’ll have comments for you by Friday. 

6 thoughts on “Hadar – Stats week 1

  1. It sounds like you’ve got some momentum and you’re feeling energized about your goals. Awesome you made dinner despite the day not going how you planned.

    On the “have to” thing, it’s so interesting–I am now making moves to start bringing in business. For me, that’s the fastest path to extra income, which Jimmy and I both must generate because we MUST build up a good savings account and we are NOT leaving 2016 until that happens, I don’t care how many unexpected expenses pop up.

    And I don’t know how to get business. I have to get out of my comfort zone, push myself, give up free time, make mistakes, learn. And at first I couldn’t make any progress on it at all because I REALLY had it as a stressful “have to” that was the result of.a Problem and NOT a get to.

    But then… I shifted. Suddenly it wasn’t a “have to,” it became a challenge. Can I do this? And I started to see lots of opportunity in it–a chance to grow, stop being so isolated, learn to own my worth, create.

    In part, I convinced myself to make that shift because of Tony Robbins. He says we all have “shoulds” and “musts.” We always get our “musts”–we often don’t get our “shoulds.” And yeah, for me, I must be able to pay my bills. I got to a point where I must have a loving relationship. I must get my hair done every 8 weeks (lol). And I get all of those things, because they’re my musts.

    So, one day, I/we “should” bring in more money — became we must. The goal is happening. It’s inevitable. The how may shift–the end result will not. That’s the space I stepped into. And with it, doing what I need to do went from “have to” to challenge/opportunity.

    Jimmy heard me describe this shift, and he asked me to dissect it. We’re still thinking about it because why does having it be a “must” shift me from “I have to” to “this is a challenge and I get to!”? Still pondering.

    Like

  2. Way to be on shaking things up with your scheduled day of blogging…..what’s next?

    As for goal #2, Heather and I have been playing phone tag regarding getting our first social event planned. I suggested that we think about supporting Kyla on March 12th and then doing something after like a big time dance jam….TBD, but we are looking forward to looping you in.

    Like

  3. Hadar so excited to see your progress with the fun goal! Yay!
    I too am working on my have to, to must to, get to, like to, ok I take on the challenge to idk you get the point so I am working through this with my retail goal. Thank you for your support with your comments on my spreadsheet. You did not hold me back. I have been sick since Wednesday so I am responsible for holding myself back.

    Like

  4. “I’m excited for this cycle, and really liking my goals. At the moment, the first one is feeling more like a have-to than a get-to, which is largely driven by (a) the sunk cost of the inventory I bought earlier this winter which I want to sell, and feels heavy on my mind, and (2) a powerless, victimy sense of ‘I don’t know HOW’ regarding impacting sales and driving interest in my products. Instead I GET to be responsible, and find a fun way to sell these electronics, and to find some way to do quickly!”

    I like how you own up to your ways of being. I learn a lot from this. On the doing side. What type of products are they? Is there another way of selling these products even outside of Ebay or Craigslist? Could you partner with someone in the short term. For example some companies are looking for products as giveaways for contests, tradeshows, etc. Maybe you could sell them that way? Could another type of establishment sell these?

    Like

    1. I don’t have that much inventory, but I like the thought- possibility should I look to grow this business!!
      Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

