This is a “Noticing” Place

A Co-worker asked me yesterday how I ended up at my place of employment.  I told him, “Life.  I’m here to learn something.”  And today I figured out what that is.   The theme of this job is noticing.  No one is going to tell me all of the details. No one is going to give me clear instructions.  I have to notice gaps and ask about them.  I have to notice what needs to be done and do it.  I have to notice the details and choose to think of them as relevant and important and my responsibility.  This is a place for me to hone the skill of noticing.

Noticing is a neutral thing- it is our interpretation that makes something good or bad.  We attach the feelings to something that is perfectly neutral.  Today when I misinterpreted instructions from my boss, i fixed the issue, all the while battling the “bad girl” conversation that began spiraling in my head.  I noticed, and was able to begin thinking about it as neutral feedback.  It really helped, and I was able to create  really powerful day.  I also had my first official supervision meeting, and it went really well.  Because I had decided to come from a neutral place, I didn’t take anything personally, and I think my boss and I both got a lot of value from the conversation.  I am more humble, more open, more trusting about the entire situation, and I think its going to make a big difference in terms of my level of success here.

 

5 thoughts on “This is a “Noticing” Place

  1. Yes, everything in life is a neutral event. Perception is reality. Having that awareness is an amazing thing, it takes us out of automatic. Great job in creating that awareness, now you get to use that in every area of your life. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “No one is going to tell me all of the details. No one is going to give me clear instructions. I have to notice gaps and ask about them. I have to notice what needs to be done and do it.”

    This is so absolutely powerful. It’s written simply and neutrally – not bad, not good, just as it is.

    I could envision someone in your position looking at it differently and thinking, “it isn’t my job to notice all the gaps and to verify all the ambiguous and incomplete instructions.”

    Instead you take that on as part of what your job and life are teaching you in this moment.

    POWERFUL!!!
    👊💪🏋

    Like

  3. Emileah, thanks for the reinforcement of the events are neutral lesson. I have been exploring my tendency to have “rules” that once broken means someone is written off or judgment is passed. i.e when someone is late. But, where is this coming from? my meaning/interpretation that I add to these events.

    Open, trusting and humble. You are powerful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

