No guilt

A race against the clock, as usual! We’re headed out of town for the Jewish holiday and I am racing to finish work, packing, gathering insane amounts of food and coordinate NYC parking. Actually, now we’re on the road. Looking forward to a weekend away near a beautiful lake with good friends.

This week was good and exhausting. 3 work events, a trip to Detroit, flight delays and more. Last night I finally collapsed in exhaustion at
10:30. generally when I get exhausted I get giddy, then cranky, then I cry and then I fall asleep. Hadar knows this routine well. At least the giddy part is fun for everyone. Last night I skipped that and went straight to cranky, and I left Hadar to do most of the work for the weekend while I went to bed. I’m lucky that he was really understanding.

As far as my goals, I decluttered my closet on Sunday! It was really fun. I donated 2 bags of clothing rather than let them sit in my closet, and today when I packed I appreciated how clean and streamlined my closet was. I still have more to go – still have too many clothes, which leads to analysis paralysis. And it brought up feelings of shame, guilt etc – why do I have so much stuff? Why did I spend money on things I don’t need? But I love one of the tenets of KonMari, which is to let those things go. Thank your items for their time, and even for teaching you what you don’t like. It’s peace of mind.

Otherwise, I largely kept my word on cutting down on sugar to feel healthy and cut down on the bloat. My downfalls are sugary drinks and not planning ahead 🙂 so, I fell down on the sugary drinks twice (cran apple is my plane drink!!) But otherwise was pretty good. And over these next few days my goal is portion control and healthy choices!

More later…xo

2 thoughts on “No guilt

  1. You have been inspiring me to declutter as well. I put together one bag of clothes this week. I have attachment issues to my things lol and reading your posts helps me let go…even though I have similar thoughts as you do “WHY DO I HAVE SO MUCH STUFF?!?!?!? THIS STILL HAS TAGS!!!” so thank you for the inspiration. Next week, maybe another bag will go out to be donated. Keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. “But I love one of the tenets of KonMari, which is to let those things go. Thank your items for their time, and even for teaching you what you don’t like. It’s peace of mind.” This is really awesome!! I am going to try that.. Hey Mr. suit– thank you for your contribution! You have seen a lot… Oh yeah Mr. receipt.. Thanks for reminding me that I should not have bought this in the first place! Get out of here! Love it. Food and planning for travel is an amazing challenge. Kudos to you for staying on it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

