Short and Sweet

This will be a quick post, as I am exhausted from a super fun weekend.  Emily and I went to a festival in the Catskills, which involved lots of dancing, not a lot of sleep, fun cuddle puddles and making new friends.  It felt amazing to be in the woods and was a good reminder to myself to get out of the city more and recharge with nature.

In terms of my goals, as usual the exercise portion has been challenging, but I believe I danced enough this weekend to balance that out.  Food-wise I have been on track so I feel confident I will achieve my weight loss goal and continue beyond this cycle.

I have still done nothing with my CV and portfolio, as my normal work hours have not allowed time and I have had a full week scheduled after work (and do again this week).  I will schedule a time to go to Emily’s and physically be accountable just by being there in her space.

I have come across another opportunity that relates to my PSP from LP last year – buying an apartment.  I was planning to initiate the process of looking in a formal way this summer, and likely more uptown to lessen the burden of my commute to the Bronx.  But an apartment came available in Emily’s building, right upstairs from her.  I looked at it on Thursday and it is really nice – a whole wall of windows facing west, with great views from the 12th floor.   There are elements that could use some updating but nothing overwhelming or glaring.  The owner is looking to try and sell ASAP without a broker, but will start with a broker when his current tenant moves out at the end of the month.  So suddenly I am looking at moving on this ASAP, but am completely unprepared and have no idea what I am doing.  I think the sell price is reasonable but without a broker have to rely on my own sense of things.  And I need to get approval from the bank for a mortgage.  Stat.  And be sure that I even want to jump on this…I do think it’s a great apartment, not perfect (weird bedroom shape but could be workable)…but this long commute that I have been struggling with will get longer.  And yet it’s right upstairs from Emily (!) and I think a sound investment.  I tend to struggle with indecision, which yields to inaction, which won’t work at all in this scenario….so I need to start acting to move this forward and see if my gut tells me something one way or the other.  I don’t want to be stupid about how I do this, and yet can’t have the formal consult of a broker if I want to save myself many thousands of dollars to move forward without one.  I do think that if this goes to market with a broker it will go fast and for more than the asking price.  I think…. (?)  Interestingly, I am not telling my parents any of this because I suspect that all they will do is ask questions in such a way as to make me doubt myself even more than I already am in this process.  So if it happens, it will be a surprise to them once it is all said and done.

OK, sleepy time….

 

 

One thought on “Short and Sweet

  1. I liked your post–“I have still done nothing with my CV and portfolio, as my normal work hours have not allowed time and I have had a full week scheduled after work (and do again this week). I will schedule a time to go to Emily’s and physically be accountable just by being there in her space.”

    I think that is a good idea!! Creating time in a cool place that is conducive to this goal may help!!
    Also I get your feeling about being indecisive in relation to apartment buying! Movement is good. The worst that can happen is you back out and you gain experience. You also getthings rolling for when you buy a home or an apartment in the future.

    Remember that the Rent is too damn high. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=79KzZ0YqLvo

    Like

Leave a Reply

