Progress in Purpose

I went to a very cool event on Monday night called Circling and absolutely loved it. It’s like an interpersonal meditation in which you verbally share your in the moment experience of yourself and of others. I noticed how much I self-censor and want approval, and specifically how much I wanted to say things that would make people think I’m smart. It’s nothing new, but it brought home for me yet again how I get in my own way. Despite that, it’s was fascinating and enlivening and I look forward to going again and sharing more next time.

I also went to a career makeover workshop last Saturday in the hopes of getting clear on what I want to do next. I didn’t leave with any new major insight but did come back to the fact that I feel called to help others realize the own value/worth.

There’s an exercise in the book What Color is Your Parachute that breaks down the domains or ‘kingdoms’ of purpose in the world. It is designed to help you figure out what issues feel most important to you and therefore what types of work you would want to spend your energy on. They are: mind, body, heart, spirit, earth, senses, entertainment, justice, and possessions.

I used to think the domain I cared most about was the mind–contributing to knowledge–but have come to realize that I’m more interested in the domain of the heart. My vision for the world is one in which there is more love, compassion, and acceptance. And when I think about what I want to be known for, I think of the following qualities: authentic, loving, kind, present, accepting, supportive, and empowering. I’m still not sure where all this leaves me in terms of a job but I’m working on it.

In the meantime, I have a second date tonight, about which I’m excited. I get to create openness, acceptance, connection, and fun!

One thought on “Progress in Purpose

  1. Love this: “My vision for the world is one in which there is more love, compassion, and acceptance. And when I think about what I want to be known for, I think of the following qualities: authentic, loving, kind, present, accepting, supportive, and empowering.”

    Also love that you’re willing to be open with how guiding others and supporting others in their journeys might look. You’ve tried a few options, and there are even more out there.

    You have a wonderful resiliency that is showing up as you attack your desire to be in the therapy field and find the fit that works for you. Keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

