Meditation and Surrender

While reading everyone’s PSP during the editing stage I learned about Insight Timer.  Thanks EP and NW.  It is an app filled with an abundance of free meditations.  After clearing up some space on my phone, I downloaded the app.  While doing laundry and other chores I was getting antsy. I decided to give meditation from this app a try.  I chose a meditation entitled Mindfulness for Releasing Anxiety by Glenn Harrold and Russ Davey.  Up until now I have mainly done meditations conducted by Deepak and it has been filled with lot of knowledge and words of wisdom.  I was a bit skeptical saying to myself- who are these guys?  What can they do?  I quickly shifted, relaxed on the couch and surrendered.  It had lots of relaxing sounds with water, etc. I felt like I was laying down next to a stream.  The directions  were also methodical in getting me to notice every breath and feeling.  The meditation got me to focus on being centered and present.  About 10 minutes into this I realized that I was relaxing.  Surrender is key.  He even advised to take our worries and put them on the leaf and let them float away.  I was open to this.  He talked about gratitude.  Anyway after around 20 minute I felt better and focused.  My mind wandered a bit but was able to shift throughout.  He also encouraged us to not worry about the mind wandering.

I don’t remember everything that was said as I truly tried to just focus on relaxing.  I didn’t learn as much as listening to Deepak; however, the meditation got me to relax.
Anyway, I wanted to share my experience as I continue to take this on.  I am glad that I took the time in that moment as I feel a little more focused and relaxed.
Happy Sunday!
One thought on “Meditation and Surrender

Leave a Reply

