Feeling blah on blog day

I’m feeling a little down and looking for something new. After all the traveling, I did at the end of last year, it’s been a bit disappointing that I have not gone anywhere exciting for the past five months. To remedy that I decided to cash in some frequent flier points book myself over the long weekend to visit the Grand Canyon and a photography tour with on overnight camping trip to Vermilion cliffs. I feel that this trip will be cathartic for me. I have not been back to Arizona since my mother passed away there. I spend the last 3 weeks of her life with her in the hospital then stayed afterwards to clean out the house and sell it. Also, the last time I was at the Grand Canyon I was with my ex-boyfriend who I thought I was going to marry. I want some memories from Arizona that are new and happy.

I’ve shared my photos and website with my brothers, PSP life family, but I’ve only shared it with a few other friends and colleagues. At a BBQ on Saturday, I was showing a friend of mine my photos, he was so loving and supportive, he was telling me he never knew I was this creative and asked me “Who are you?”. I almost blurted out my contract to him. It’s like I’ve been asleep for a long time and finally waking up to express my true self that I’ve been hiding from the world.

For this week’s goal. The challenge was to tell a story with a mirror. This one I found not to be very inspirational. I have a few older photos that where I have caught reflections in a mirror and I could not seem to find something that was as good as that. What I did find is this.

NYC_Random_100

The story it tells me is how NYC is rapidly changing. I listened to a couple of photography pod casts, purchased the book and read the intro of the founder of the Art of Intuitive photography wrote.

For my second goal, general health and mental well-being. I use the Insight Time meditation app each day, except Friday when I listened to another guided meditation. Took a long walk with Jill on the Highline after brunch on Sunday.

Looking forward- I’m going to attend a kick ass spin class, going hiking in Arizona and take some amazing photographs. In order to achieve this, I’m going to be open to releasing the past.

2 thoughts on “Feeling blah on blog day

  1. Hmmm… I highly recommend you and my buddy Michael have a call about travel and releasing the past. And I think your choice of photo is great. When you can come up with something good in response to an assignment you’re not that excited by, that’s when you know you’ve got some serious passion and skills!

    Like

  2. “It’s like I’ve been asleep for a long time and finally waking up to express my true self that I’ve been hiding from the world.”
    Love this idea…reminds me of the opening to the 4 Agreements.

    How else can you share you authentic self, and with whom will you do so?

    Like

Leave a Reply

