Making spiritual and creative moves day in and out

Creativity has been on a halt this week.

Spirituality is going in full force. I finished one book and am working my way slowly through the other book.

I noticed I have skipped around on my by whens getting some things done I said I would do by the end of the cycle and not completing a few things I said I would get done by 2 weeks in.

What have I been up to? Last weekend I was in Albany with my gym cheering on our team in a weekend competition. We made history. For the first time since we opened we had a team that made it to Regionals and then finished in 4th place securing our place at the Crossfit Games. So exciting especially for people who may not be members at my gym anymore but remember when I started the gym out of gymnastics studio, working out barefoot, using sandbags. To see our team compete in a huge stadium and have a sign with our Gym name Crossfit Queens on it being hung up where concerts are held was breathtaking and brought tears to my eyes. It is funny because this is not something that I put value on or was a part of my vision. This was my business partner’s vision. He wanted to be a GM of an athletic team and I remember years ago he wanted to have our gym staffed with games Athlete’s and our own team to make it to the games. And he created his vision and brought this to life. So while, I was not excited when he told me this vision now I am head over heels and blessed to be a part and a long for the ride. It has also opened up my eyes that while we have some different parts of our vision for the gym our two visions unite in what we want for the gym. Different ways to get on the same page.

This weekend I am taking my two goals creativity and spirituality to Texas and going to incorporate them with my Dad. I am going to look for creative ways to be with my Dad and connect and a creative way to talk about my spirituality with him. This will be a stretch as we have not had any in depth conversations about this ever.

As a child my parents were Catholic then at age 8 half of my family decided to become born again Christians which I fell on the side of and identified myself as. My Dad always stuck to identifying with being Catholic. When I moved in with my Dad at age 9 the topic never came up since my Dad didn’t go to church or have any daily Catholic practices. A few years ago when my Dad first started getting sick and I guess scared of dying he started going to a Catholic service on Wednesday’s at 8am. He asked me to go with him a few times and I refused. I couldn’t be bothered to go so early in the morning especially to something I didn’t believe in. At that point I wasn’t that far in my personal growth journey and didn’t see it as a chance to connect, be open and just get curious. So this weekend, I will be courageous and bring up religion and spirituality and with no expectations on the outcome. Time is short. Who knows how long my Dad’s memory will be with him.

Lastly, I got a letter from my half sister from jail. I didn’t grow up with her and after my Mom died a few years back I am the only family she has that visits her, writes her or sends her money or even talks to her. Anyhow I digress from the crazy I don’t know what to call it folklore, myth, demonic?….she calls religion. In line with my spirituality goal I wrote her and told her what I was up to and different thoughts I have share on the blog and beliefs. She wrote back that she worships Santa Muerte. I kid you not this sounds like something from some B rated horror or comedy film. What? Anyhow I googled this for a second but WOW talk about stretch and being open and not judging..,, here is what I found on Wikipidia

“Nuestra Señora de la Santa Muerte (Spanish for Our Lady of the Holy Death) or, colloquially, Santa Muerte (Holy Death), is a female deity (or folk saint depending on school of thought) Mexican folk religion, venerated primarily in Mexico and the Southwestern United States. A personification of death, she is associated with healing, protection, and safe delivery to the afterlife by her devotees.[1] Despite condemnation by the Catholic Church, her cult has risen to an unprecedented prominence in the 2000s and 2010s, as a continuation of the Aztec goddess of death Mictecacihuatl (Nahuatl for “Lady of the Dead”) clad according to Spanish iconography”

Say what????

3 thoughts on “Making spiritual and creative moves day in and out

  1. Wow! Congrats on qualifying and having your gym represent! That’s amazing! (Should also be a great promotional tool to recruit new members!)

    Good to hear you’re taking your spirituality goal to the next level and sharing with family. Interested to hear how it goes with your dad. Sorry for not being knowledgeable about this, but what is the difference in practice between you as born again and your dad as Catholic?

    Interesting stuff re: your sis! I met a dude through work the other week whose first wife was into something similar…do you think she’d feel the same if she weren’t in jail?

    Like

  2. The way you are approaching your relationship with your dad as you face one of life’s most difficult trials is so brave and inspiring. Caregiving is I think one of the most giving, courageous things anyone can do, and I just really acknowledge you for everything you’ve been putting into it.

    Like

  3. Congrats on your gym’s successes! I find the way you are connecting with various family members so powerful and courageous. And beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

