Buen Camino and Communion

Last week I declared for my spirituality goal that I would tell my Dad about my spirituality quest. Being that my Dad has limited attention span due to Dementia and we have never had a religious conversation , this was a stretch. I am happy to say my Dad listened responded that he thought it was great and he even liked my prayer that I read him aloud (posted on my blog post last week).  Then Sunday came and the place where my Dad lives always has someone come in to give them communion.  Normally this is something I would sit out and watch.  Since this was an opportunity in line with my goal, the bigger purpose  of connecting, stretching and I knew all the words. I participated and ate the cracker given. Amen   (now I didn’t recite it word for word but baby steps)

Next, one of my friends from the gym is going on the Camino this summer. The Camino de Santiago (the Way of St. James) is a large group of ancient pilgrim routes that stretch across Europe and coming together at the tomb of St. James in Santiago (north-west Spain). He told me he is walking with intention this year so he asked me and some friends who were interested to put our “intention” in a self addressed envelope and he will carry with him on his hike and when he reaches Santiago he will mail it back to us.

Here is where my two goals come together I used a page from my Daily Zen doodle book and drew up my intentions:  Intentions

 

 

One thought on “Buen Camino and Communion

Leave a Reply

