Support is Essential

It has been a challenging week.  I don’t know how to really begin.. On Tuesday afternoon my mother called to tell me that my father had a stroke.  She said he is okay but his speech is slurred and is very weak.  My sister and I immediately went to Connecticut.  He has been in the hospital since Monday.  He will go to a Rehab Center today.  As I am typing  this while in his hospital room sitting next to him, I noticed some good progress. My dad’s speech is slurred and is still weak but I believe / know that he will get better.  I believe the rehab center will be great to get him on the mend.  It’s a bit of a setback.  My dad was diagnosed with cancer two years back and just received word that he is cancer free.

This is difficult for me to write as I am not known to share about news and/or to reach out for help in times like this.  I have slowly reached out to some friends and family to let them know.  I don’t know the reason but just don’t like to come across as being an attention taker, etc.  I guess my mother and father are the same, for example my mother waited one day to call my sister and me.  We didn’t even know that he had shingles the prior week. She just didn’t want to worry us.  Looking at my mother’s action… the idea of not reaching out for help/support is crazy.

I notice that I am guarded in what I share when it comes to things like this.  For example, I went to get my father his newspapers (he reads like 3-4 newspapers each day) and I saw some acquaintances at the News Store.  They asked how my parents are doing. Instead of sharing the actual details I just said that everyone is fine.  That’s what my parents would want me to say too. Obviously family members and close family friends are aware of everything.

I believe that the work has been helpful and has come to mind a lot.  I believe that I am handling the uncertainty better and being positive.  For example it could have been much worse.  If I really want perspective all I need to do is to go to the floor below which is I believe is the trauma unit, intensive care.  Not easy to think about under  this circumstance but doing my best to be positive.

I am taking this one day at a time and being positive.  I am also taking into consideration that my way of being is essential

I have done some meditating but not everyday.  Today I realized the benefits of mediation as I made time to step back and breath.  I have also not exercised all week. Today I  made some time to mediate and stretch for 20-30 minutes and then workout a bit doing exercises on my own.  The same type of body weight exercises I do at Cross Fit Queens.  I definitely feel better.  Meditating is helpful even when I feel distracted.  I no longer beat myself up when my mind wanders.  I just catch myself and get back on track.

Prior to getting the news I was listening to various podcasts (goal number 2) to read and listen to different books and inspiring podcasts.

My friend Kerry is a speaker on Marketingprofs.  She interviews different people each week.  I really enjoyed her interview with this Chris Brogan who recently published a book The Freaks Shall Inherit the Earth: Entrepreneurship for Weirdos, Misfits, and World Dominators.  Some take aways from the interview include:

http://www.marketingprofs.com/podcasts/2014/24678/business-owner-chris-brogan-marketing-smartshttp://www.marketingprofs.com/podcasts/2014/24678/business-owner-chris-brogan-marketing-smarts

Define “success” for yourself, in business and in life : “You have to remember that worth and value are amazingly different than just cash. Being successful is not about the money you make. It’s about being able to live life on your terms.”  I really like the idea of living life on your terms.

This is something that I am striving to achieve – finding balance and living life on my terms.  I have been working to free myself from things that take me away from my desire to connect with others.

To get ahead in business, help others : “When you are sour, when you are bitter, when you are jealous, when you are worried that someone else has something more than you, nothing ever good comes of it. No good thing comes from that mindset. The mindset is this: ‘I’m going to help as many people as I can help.’ All of the money I’ve ever made, every dollar in my bank account, came from being helpful. I know that there’s other people who are jerkfaces and they made their money being jerkfaces, but that is so small a percentage compared to the people who live and thrive just by being helpful, and the best thing is that every single one of those dollars I’ve made, I make it twice, because when I make a dollar being helpful, the person I’ve helped is like ‘Wow, I love that guy! I can’t wait to work with him again.’ So, I can’t give any better advice than ‘be helpful.”

I operate with the goal of being helpful to others.   I strive to go with the mindset of connecting people with great products to make their lives / jobs easier.

I also feel its important to stay focused and not get distracted by others successes and failures.  “The work” and PSP Life has kept me mindful of my vision, and goals.  Although these goals change its been great to be mindful that this is okay too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Support is Essential

  1. Hey buddy I am so sorry to hear about your dad. I acknowledge you for still blogging and sharing with us, and for seeing this group as a source of support. We are definitely keeping you and your dad in our thoughts. He certainly sounds like a fighter. I hope you get to spend some time with him on Father’s Day and being him some joy and comfort.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing what’s going on with your dad. If you want to talk again about it, share how you’re doing/handling the stress, etc., I’m happy to jump on another call.
    Similarly, if there’s anything we can do to support you please let me know.

    I also liked the idea of generating income from helping others – great thought!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

